Thoughts of Daisy the Dog

Day 11 of 31

My name is Daisy

Tonight is a special night

Eeek!

It only happens 4 times a year but…

It is super special every time

My dad has to travel into the city

I knew he was going because this morning he wore his special clothes

He wore a tie, and fancy socks with shiny shoes

Oh, and he packed a small suitcase

He usually pretends he doesn’t like me but…

As he left he looked right into my eyes started petting me and said, “Be a good girl, Daisy. See you tomorrow night!”

Obviously he loves me

And who could blame him

I am super cute

I will miss him but…

Do you know what happens when he goes away?

Eeek!

Get ready!!!

It’s amazing!!!!

I get to hang out with the mom!!!!

ALONE!!!

Just the two of us!!!

This is the night that she eats something called, girl dinner

I think she calls it that because we are both girls

She sits on the floor and puts her food on the coffee table

She watches whatever she wants on TV

Without the dad flipping the channel

I really miss the dad but… 

Man oh man

I love hanging out with the mom

My mom lets me sit right next to her while she eats

Usually I can’t see the food but…

At the coffee table I can!

I don’t know a lot of tricks but…

I know not to beg for girl dinner

Unless she drops it by mistake

Then all bets are off

By tomorrow night the mom and I will be happy to see the dad again but…

For now

For tonight

It’s just me and the mom!

2 responses to “Thoughts of Daisy the Dog”

  1. Glenda Funk Avatar
    Glenda Funk

    Daisy,

    You are quite the writer! I’m going to remember “girl dinner” for when the dad here is away, even though the dogs are boys. It’s easy to see why the dad and mom love you.

    Like

  2. jodimahoney Avatar
    jodimahoney

    This is the cutest! What a perfect capture of Daisy’s “voice.”

    Like

Leave a comment