Applause is Validating

Day 14 of 31

As the school counselor in my building I wear many hats. I partner with parents, administrators and teachers regularly and of course I meet with students individually as well as in small groups. One of my responsibilities is to deliver counseling lessons in classrooms throughout the year. This is my favorite part of my job, likely because I was a classroom teacher for many years prior to becoming a school counselor. The classroom is my comfort zone. And let’s face it, I love to perform and the kids are essentially a captive audience for the short time I visit them.

This week I have been visiting 3rd and 4th grade classes to teach them about Rumors and Gossip. Today was my day to visit 2 of our fourth grade classrooms. I love fourth graders and in my old life as a teacher I taught fourth grade for a couple years and loved it. Fourth graders understand humor and, for the most part, they are able to laugh and then regain their composure and move on. It is super fun to joke with fourth graders.

This group of fourth graders have known me since Kindergarten so we have pretty good rapport and I can read them fairly well. I know which students might struggle with the concepts and I know which students will have difficulty paying attention. I am cognizant of those students who will require a break (or two) and those students who may have challenges going on outside of school.

This group of fourth graders doesn’t really surprise me much but today, as I walked into the room, the class applauded for me. At first I thought the teacher had told them to clap when Mrs. Clark arrived for the lesson, so I asked them. They told me, and their teacher confirmed, that she did not tell them to applaud. I asked why they applauded and when I called on students they shared that they just love when I visit them because I help them solve problems they have with friends. They also said that I am “both of the funs”-fun and funny.

What those fourth graders didn’t know was how much I needed some applause today. This week has been long and next week will likely feel longer since our break begins on March 25th. I have some home stuff going on that is impacting me and I have unfun things to do this weekend.

As I left the classroom I said, “I would like to thank you for the applause and validation as I entered the room.” I then heard several students laugh. In my head I was thinking, “Ummm…I wasn’t kidding”. Is it weird I enjoy validation from 9 and 10 year olds? Probably, but it definitely was the highlight of my day!

2 responses to “Applause is Validating”

  1. kristasjots Avatar
    kristasjots

    I love this! What an honor to be both fun and funny! You are making a positive impact on your students. ❤ Humor is one of my favorite parts about teaching fifth graders!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. carolannclark Avatar
      carolannclark

      Fifth graders are amazing!!!! LOVE them!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment